Outstanding Researcher Award

The Outstanding Researcher Award is the Opus College of Engineering’s annual award recognizing research excellence. Awarded at the annual convocation, this honor is given to an engineering faculty member that has demonstrated outstanding scholarly work that has an impact on the world.

2019 Outstanding Researcher Award: Dr. Said Audi 

Dr. Said AudiDr. Said Audi, professor of biomedical engineering and director of graduate studies, has been named the Opus College of Engineering’s 2019 Outstanding Research Award recipient.

Dr. Audi’s research interests focus on developing experimental and computational approaches for evaluating metabolic, bioenergetic and hemodynamic functions of the lung under physiologic and pathophysiologic conditions. Specifically, his work looks to utilize these approaches to further understand the pathogenesis of acute respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS). ARDS is one of the most frequent causes of admission to intensive care units, with severe cases accounting for 75,000 deaths, 3.6 million hospital days and $5 billion in healthcare costs per year in the U.S. alone.

His recent funding from the National Institutes of Health targets use of clinical imaging and computational algorithms to detect and quantify changes in specific lung cellular targets during the progression and regression of ARDS. Through this research, Dr. Audi expects to develop: the basis of a clinical means for early detection of ARDS; new prognostic information of clinical importance to patients with mild ARDS; and a quantitative and mechanistic understanding of the role of a key cellular target in ARDS progression and regression.

“On behalf of our college, I am pleased to recognize Dr. Said Audi with this year’s Outstanding Researcher Award,” said Dr. Brian Schmit, associate dean for research in the Opus College of Engineering. “Dr. Audi is an excellent researcher, as noted by his significant funding from the NIH and other organizations, as well as his reputation among his colleagues and students. Most importantly, his research is changing lives by improving the outcomes for ARDS patients while reducing associated health care costs.”

Past Recipients:

  • Dr. Brooke Mayer, 2018
  • Dr. Brian Schmit, 2017
  • Drs. Daniel Zitomer and Joe Schimmels, 2016
  • Dr. Steve Heinrich, 2015