Our 2020-2021 student intern teams include six Marquette graduate and undergraduate students, paired with their respective fellows below:

Tim Bannon, Independent Journalist

Margaret Cahill

Margaret Cahill, senior      


Amanda Parrish

Amanda Parrish, senior   


Rick Barrett, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel

Kelli Arseneau

Kelli Arseneau, senior

Chris Miller

Chris Miller, second-year graduate student


Ashley Nguyen, Independent Journalist

Sarah Lipo

Sarah Lipo, senior


Rachel Ryan

Rachel Ryan, first-year graduate student


The O’Brien Fellowship is committed to providing experienced journalists with the tools to pursue ambitious long-term projects in service of the public interest. In this vein, each fellow is paired with a hand-selected team of student interns who provide quality reporting and production support over the course of the project.

Our interns aren’t assigned busy work. They’re treated as entry-level reporters whose work and skills have a real impact on our fellows’ success. Many students even gain byline credit or go on to work in the fellow’s home newsroom in a university-sponsored summer internship. In this way, we strive to not only empower experienced journalists to do great work now, but also to train up-and-coming reporters to do great work in the future.