About University Staff Senate

The University Staff Senate is a group of elected individuals who represent Marquette University staff so that their views and interests may be considered, alongside those of faculty and students, in the conduct of institutional affairs that affect life in the workplace and in the advancement of the university’s mission.

Membership on the University Staff Senate shall consist of sixteen elected representatives with equal representation of exempt/non-exempt, eight of which represent defined areas. Elections are held annually in the spring.

The University Staff Senate has six standing sub-committees as follows: Bylaws Committee, Nominating and Election Committee, Communications Committee, Staff Outreach Committee, Service Committee and Work Environment Committee. Members from the University Staff Senate are appointed to administrative committees and other task forces including, but not limited to, the University Leadership Council and the Academic Integrity Council.

The University Staff Senate convenes every third Thursday of the month at 11 a.m.