Rev. Andrew J. Thon, S.J. Award for Leadership

First presented in 1993, the Rev. Andrew J. Thon, S.J. Award for Leadership honors a graduating senior for leadership contributions that have increased in depth and breadth to the Marquette and Milwaukee communities during the course of his or her undergraduate career. The highest honor presented by the Division of Student Affairs, this award recognizes excellence as a student leader who embodies the ideals expressed in the University Mission.

In 2010 the award was named in honor of Fr. Andy Thon, who served as Vice President for Student Affairs at Marquette from 1997 to 2008 after holding student affairs positions at Wheeling Jesuit College, University of Wisconsin-Madison, Seattle University, and Marquette. Under Fr. Thon's leadership, Marquette dramatically increased opportunities for community service, expanded opportunities for involvement in student organizations and club sports (which nearly doubled in number during his tenure), and constructed and renovated new apartments and residence halls to address the growing residential population. Fr. Thon has continued to work with future student affairs educators as a teacher, advisor, and mentor in the Student Affairs in Higher Education master's program through the Marquette University College of Education. He will retire from teaching after the 2020-2021 school year.

Recipient of the Rev. Andrew J. Thon, S.J. Award for Leadership 2023

Micah Pierce Coleman

Micah Pierce Coleman is a senior majoring in Communication Studies with minors in Psychology and Sociology. In her time at Marquette, she has been involved with the Office of Engagement as a Leadership Program Intern, The Student Wellness Center as a Wellness Peer Educator, as well as the Office of Admissions as a Campus Tour Guide. Micah has also shown dedication to the university by volunteering her time to act as an Orientation Leader for NSFP, serving on the communications team for the Justice in Action Conference, and completing the leadership development programs Cardoner Scholars and Arrupe Ambassadors.