Recognizing Student Leadership

The 2024 Contemplatives in Action Student Leadership Award Selection marks 55 years that Student Affairs has recognized student leadership through an awards program. Student Affairs recognizes leadership aligned with our Leadership Development Model in the spirit of being a contemplative in action, one who's leadership is expressed in service with and for others. Students are recognized for their contributions to the Marquette and greater community in a number of leadership areas including:

  • Faith that Does Justice
  • Community/Civic Engagement
  • Service for and with Others
  • Celebration/Promotion of Diversity and Inclusion 
  • Social Justice Advocacy/Education
  • Mentorship/Guidance
  • Promotion of Health/Wellness 

Award Criteria

  • Recipients are full-time undergraduate students who, through their leadership, have made outstanding contributions to the university or Milwaukee community over the duration of their time at Marquette.
  • Students are not recognized solely on the basis of their employment records or office or position held, but for the breadth and depth of their leadership.
  • Eligibility for selection is based on scholarship, leadership and service. Award recipients must be in good academic and disciplinary standing and demonstrate a balance of academic and co-curricular excellence. 
  • All full-time undergraduate students regardless of class-standing are eligible for awards (except where noted).

If interested in selecting students for awards, please review the selection process. Student Affairs and Campus Ministry staff can nominate students online.

Awards are given in four areas:

  1. Emerging Leader Award: Awarded to students in their first or second years of study at who demonstrated initiative, motivation, and potential for continued student leadership within the university. (Individuals are selected by each department.)
  2. Contemplative in Action Leadership Award: A Contemplative in Action Leadership Award recipient is a student who has dedicated significant time toward the service of others, who has encountered their service as a Contemplative in Action, who may have been inspired to choose action that contributes to the work of justice through time spent in prayer/discernment/reflection, and who has exemplified Marquette’s Mission in a significant way through involvement in activities/initiatives that demonstrate one or a combination of the following: faith that does justice, community/civic engagement, service for and with others, celebration or promotion of diversity and inclusion, advocacy/educational awareness work, mentorship or guidance, and promotion of health and wellness. The emphasis is on the action being for/with others. (Individuals are selected by each department.)
  3. Magis Award: A Magis Award recipient is a Contemplative in Action who has demonstrated the concept of magis in some way (i.e. doing more for Christ, doing more for others, “the more universal good”). Magis should be thought of as depth and not necessarily quantity of engagements. A student who receives a Magis award is someone who has demonstrated exceptional leadership, excellence, dedication and commitment above and beyond the requirements of a paid or appointed role. One freshman, one sophomore, one junior, and one senior will be honored among all the recipients of Contemplative in Action Leadership Awards. (Individuals are nominated by each department and then selected by committee.)
  4. Andrew J. Thon S.J. Award for Leadership: This awards honors a graduating senior for leadership contributions that have increased in depth and breadth to the Marquette and Milwaukee communities during the course of their undergraduate career. The highest honor presented by the Division of Student Affairs, this award recognizes distinguished leadership, scholarship, service and excellence and is awarded to a leader who embodies the ideals expressed in the University Mission. (Individuals are nominated by each department and then selected by committee.)