Contemplative in Action Leadership Award Selection Process

Contemplative in Action Leadership Award and Emerging Leader Award recipients will be selected by individual departments within Student Affairs and Campus Ministry.

Each department selects up to four students from each “functional” area in their departments to receive Contemplative in Action Leadership Awards.

Each department selects up to four Emerging Leader Awards.

Magis Award recipients are nominated by departments. These nominees should be a Contemplative in Action Leadership Award recipient who has demonstrated the concept of magis in some way (i.e. doing more for Christ, doing more for others, “the more universal good”). Magis should be thought of as depth and not necessarily quantity of engagements. A student who receives a Magis award is someone who has demonstrated exceptional leadership, excellence, dedication and commitment above and beyond the requirements of a paid or appointed role. Departments can nominate up to one student from each class (one freshman, one sophomore, one junior, and one senior) but do not have nominate students from each class. These awards are selected by a a committee comprised of staff across Student Affairs and Campus Ministry and announced at the awards program. 

The Thon Award for Leadership is also selected by this committee and is typically announced at the awards program. If you are nominating students for the Magis or Thon awards,  they must also be selected for a either Emerging Leader or Contemplatives in Action Awards.

Once departments have made decisions on recipients, their names should be submitted online. Note: you will need to submit each recipient’s name separately via this form. Selections and nominations are due Monday, March 8, 2021.

Please refer to the Leadership Award Rubric to assist with the selection process.