2018 Three Minute Thesis Competition

Three Minute Thesis Logo






Three Minute Thesis (3MT) Event Recap

The Graduate School and Marquette University held the 3MT® competition on February 23, 2018.  The Three Minute Thesis is a global research communication competition developed by The University of Queensland in Australia.  It is an academic competition for doctoral and master’s degree students that require each participant to explain his or her research effectively in three minutes, using one slide, with no animation.

After competing in a qualifying round, the finalists were chosen to compete for the coveted prize of $1,000.  Additionally, $500 was awarded to the Runner Up and the audience voted for the People’s Choice winner who was also awarded $500. 

The preliminary round was judged by Dr. Gary Krenz, Department of Mathematics, Statistics and Computer Science; Dr. Deirdre Dempsey, Department of Theology; and Dr. James Rice, Department of Mechanical Engineering. 

The final competition was judged by Dr. Daniel Myers, Provost, Marquette University; Honorable Janine Geske, Trustee, Marquette University Board of Trustees; and Ms. Karen Herzog, Higher Education Reporter for the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel.

Watch the full competition, or you can view individual contestants below. 


Congratulations to This Year's Winner and Runner Up, Giovanni Berardi and Ryan Warner

Mr. Giovanni Berardi, a doctoral student in the Clinical and Translational Rehabilitation Health Science program, emerged as the Three Minute Thesis competition winner with his presentation, “Resisting the Pain Epidemic:  Pumping Up Pain Relief".  He was also selected as the People’s Choice winner!  Mr. Berardi will move on to represent Marquette University at the Midwestern Association of Graduate Schools regional competition in Grand Rapids, Michigan on April 6, 2018.

The Runner-Up was awarded to Mr. Ryan Warner, a doctoral student in the Counseling Psychology program, with his presentation, "Coping Responses to Racial Microaggressions Among African-American Doctoral Students in Psychology".

Congratulations and thank you to our winners and competitors from this year’s competition!  It was an incredible experience to hear about the research that our graduate students are working on. 

Competition Finalists

Winner- Giovanni Berardi, Clinical and Translational Rehabilitation

Thesis: Resisting the Pain Epidemic: Pumping Up Pain Relief




Runner Up- Ryan Warner, Counseling Psychology

Thesis: Coping Responses to Racial Microaggressions Among African-American Doctoral Students in Psychology



Samuel Amoako-Frimpong, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Thesis: Searching for Better Robots



Wenkai Guan, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Thesis: Design for Embedded Systems Under Uncertainty



Thomas Hansberger, Philosophy

Thesis: What is an Intention?



Jiachen Ma, Computational Sciences

Thesis: Training Smarter



Chandler MacSwain, Communication

Thesis: Form and Content: Identity Contexts



Jennifer Marra, Philosophy

Thesis: Humor, Power and Culture



Shaun Miller, Philosophy

Thesis: Care of the Sexual Self