Contact the Graduate School Staff

Graduate School Leadership

Dr. Douglas Woods- Vice Provost for Graduate School

Dr. Douglas Woods

Vice Provost for Graduate and Professional Studies and Dean of the Graduate School

(414) 288-3769 | douglas.woods@mu.edu

Message from the Dean 

 



Dr. Carrianne Hayslett

Dr. Carrianne Hayslett

Associate Dean of the Graduate School

(414) 288-0252 | carrianne.hayslett@mu.edu

 

Associate Dean Role

  • Supports academic aspects of graduate education
  • Oversees the academic review of graduate student progress
  • Coordinates professional development initiatives for graduate students

Theresa Tobin- Associate Dean for Academic Affairs

Dr. Theresa Tobin

Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Student Development

(414) 288-1414 | theresa.tobin@mu.edu

 

 

Carl Wainscott- Assistant Dean of the Graduate School

Carl Wainscott

Assistant Dean of the Graduate School

(414) 288-5319 | carl.wainscott@mu.edu

  

Assistant Dean of the Graduate School Role

  • Manages the daily operation of the Graduate School
  • Formulates budgets and fulfills requests for statistical reports and data analysis
  • Assists with strategic planning
  • Oversees all aspects of Accelerated Degree programs

  Assistant to the Dean

Lee Hovorka

Assistant to the Dean

(414) 288-3769 | lee.hovorka@mu.edu

 

Assistant to the Dean's Role

  • Provides support to the vice provost for graduate and professional studies, and dean of the Graduate School
  • Provides administrative support in all areas relating to the processing of graduate applications and new student enrollment

 


Recruiting and Admissions

Our recruiting and admissions team assists prospective students, applicants, admitted students and matriculated students. Each recruiter specializes in different programs. Click below to learn about their areas of focus. 


Katie Ruetz- Director of Graduate AdmissionsKatie Ruetz

Director of Graduate Admissions 

(414) 288-4880 | katie.ruetz@mu.edu

 

Admissions Director Role

  • Manages all facets of the daily operation of Graduate Admissions
  • Coordinates with all graduate departments regarding application procedures

Tim Carter in the Brew Cafe

Tim Carter

Graduate Program Recruiter

(414) 288-7139 | timothy.carter@mu.edu

 

Lizzie Kerrick- Recruiter

Lizzie Kerrick

Graduate Program Recruiter/CRM Specialist

(414) 288-4792 | elizabeth.kerrick@mu.edu

 

Lizzie's Program Areas and CRM Role

  • Manages the Graduate School’s customer relationship management software (CRM)
  • Recruiter for the following Graduate programs:

Mary Wacker- Graduate Program Recruiter

Mary Wacker

Graduate Program Recruiter

(414) 288-0327 | mary.wacker@mu.edu

 

Debra Leutermann- Admissions Coordinator

Debra Leutermann

Admissions Coordinator

(414) 288-8064 | debra.leutermann@mu.edu 

 

Coordinator Role

  • Provides administrative support for all areas relating to the processing of graduate applications, I-20 processing, and new student enrollment 
  • Assists applicants, admitted students and matriculated students in the Graduate School of Management


Karina Valdes-GarciaKarina Valdes-Garcia

Admissions Coordinator

(414) 288-2138 | karina.valdes-garcia@mu.edu

Admissions Coordinator Role

  • Provides coordination and administrative support for all areas related to graduate admission
  • Processes application materials, admission decisions and I-20s

 


 

Graduate School Operations

Father Thaddeus Burch

Rev. Thaddeus Burch, S.J.

Director of Special Projects

(414) 288-1531 | thaddeus.burch@mu.edu

 

 

 

Sherri Lex- Assistant Director of Student Records

Sherri Lex

Assistant Director for Student Records

(414) 288-7182 | sherri.lex@mu.edu

 

Assistant Director for Student Records Role

  • Provides a broad range of record services both within the Graduate School, among academic and administrative units, and to current students
  • Provides administrative overview and maintenance of graduate student records

Tom Marek- Assitant Director for Financial AidTom Marek

Assistant Director for Financial Aid

(414) 288-5325 | thomas.marek@mu.edu

 

Assistant Director for Financial Aid Role

  • Manages annual competitions for merit-based financial aid
  • Administers graduate assistantships, fellowships, scholarships, and graduate student travel research awards
  • Provides employment verifications

Carrie PruhsCarrie Pruhs

Director of Academic Business Affairs

(414) 288-5323 | carrie.pruhs@mu.edu

 

Director of Academic Business Affairs Role

  • Chief budget assistant to the dean
  • Coordinates all aspects of HR within the Graduate School 
  • Coordinates revision of Graduate Bulletin

Carla Sumka- Web Content Strategist

Carla Sumka

Web Content Strategist

(414) 288-4884 | carla.sumka@mu.edu

Web Content Strategist Role

  • Manages website content for all Graduate School pages
  • Curates content and manages Graduate School Social Media channels
  • Collaborates with OMC and Graduate School Departments to enhance digital performance of graduate programs