Periodontics Faculty


Dr. Paul Luepke received his  DDS from the University of Illinois at Chicago in 1987,  He received his periodontal training (Certificate and Masters) from the University of Texas Health Science Center San Antonio in 1996. Dr. Luepke is a Diplomate and board examiner of the American Board of Periodontology. Dr. Luepke retired from the Navy in 2008 with the rank of Captain after 21 years of service. He is currently the Chair of Surgical Sciences, Clinical Associate Professor, and will be the acting Postdoctorate Director of the Advanced Education in Periodontics.


Dr. Mark A .Brunner attended Dental school at The Ohio State University. He then attended Periodontics training at Medical College of Virginia before 14 years of Private Practice in Atlanta, Georgia.  Very involved in organized dentistry, Dr. Brunner has held positions and lectured in state, regional, national, and international associations.  2½ years ago he decided to pursue his love of teaching full-time at the Dental College of Georgia. He is currently Clinical Assistant Professor in Surgical Sciences.



Dr. Moe Kassab received his D.D.S from Damascus University, Syria in 2000, He then received his Certificate in periodontology and M.S. in Oral Biology from State University of New York at Buffalo. He currently a Clinical Associate Professor and has previous experience at Harvard University, School of Dental Medicine and clinical research at the Forsyth Institute. Dr. Kassab’s research focuses on the utilization of connective tissue grafts in treating gingival recession. Also he is involved in clinical research to investigate the use of dental implants in the “esthetic zone”.


Dr. Swati Rawal trained in Periodontology in India and The Ohio State University Columbus, Ohio. She has practiced and taught in various parts of the world including India, Trinidad and Tobago, US, and Malaysia. She is currently Clinical Associate Professor in Surgical Sciences.


Dr. Vrisiis Kofina received her DDS from the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Greece and her MS and Certificate in Periodontics from The Ohio State University. Before specializing in Periodontology, she practiced general dentistry in her hometown Athens. She is currently Assistant Professor in Surgical Sciences.



Dr. Arndt Guentsch graduated and got his trainig in Periodontics in Germany. He earns a (DMD) in 2001 and a PhD in 2011 from the Friedrich-Schiller-University Jena in Germany as well as a Master degree in Health Business Administration (MHBA) in 2013 from the Friedrich-Alexander-University Nuremberg. Dr. Guentsch is board certified from the German Society of Periodontology (2013). His passion is to combine clinic and research. Dr. Guentsch authored approx. 100 publications, more than 40 of them were published in peer-reviewed journals. From 2001 until 2014 he was a faculty member at the University Hospital in Jena, Germany and since 2015 he joined the Department of Surgical Sciences at the Marquette University School of Dentistry as Associate Professor. He is currently Chair of Department of Surgical Sciences.



Dr. Andrew Dentino graduated with a DDS from Case Western Reserve University School of Dentistry in 1986, and from SUNY at Buffalo with a PhD in Oral Biology and a Certificate in Periodontics in 1992. He has been teaching and doing research at Marquette University since that time and is the Undergraduate Program Director of Periodontics. A Diplomate of the American Board of Periodontology, Dr. Dentino has lectured nationally and internationally, and is a Reviewer for various dental and non-dental journals as well as an invited reviewer for NIH study section. He practices periodontics and implantology on a part-time basis in Wauwatosa and West Allis, WI. He is currently Associate Dean of Research and Graduate Studies.


Lynn Bergstrom Bryan, BSDH, RDH, Med is Clinical Professor and a graduate of the Marquette University Baccalaureate Program in Dental Hygiene and the MU Graduate School of Education, Lynn’s career has included participating in the education of future dental hygiene and dental professionals.  She has lectured nationally, is a reviewer for various dental hygiene publications and is a chapter author for a dental hygiene textbook.  As Clinic Coordinator for Non-Surgical Periodontics, Lynn and her team of periodontal faculty are been responsible for the preventive, periodontal and instrumentation instruction.


Dr Hongsoek An is Assistant Professor of Prosthodontics at Marquette University School of Dentistry. He received his BS in Statistics / Computer Science (2004) and DDS (2008) from Seoul National University in South Korea. He completed his prosthodontic residency at the University of Washington School of Dentistry, where he received his Certificate in Prosthodontics and MSD. Dr. An has served as a reviewer for scientific journals including the Journal of Prosthodontics and the Angle Orthodontist. Additionally, he is a member of the American College of Prosthodontists (ACP), the American Academy of Fixed Prosthodontics (AAFP) and the American Dental Association (ADA). He is also a member of MUSoD curriculum committee, AAFP Tylman Research Committee and AAFP Research in Fixed Prosthodontics Committee. Dr. An has authored/ co-authored several scientific articles in various peer-reviewed journals. Dr. An’s research interests include the CAD/CAM technology and the implant dentistry. He currently practices once a week at the MUSoD Faculty Practice. He has presented his research and clinical work at various scientific meetings locally, nationally and internationally. Dr. An’s lectures focus mainly on digital dentistry and esthetic reconstruction. He is currently in charge of Digital Workflow and Prosthodontic Planning.


Dental Anesthesiologist: Dr. James Crawford


Part-time Periodontal Faculty

Dr. James Herman
Dr. Paul Svoboda
Dr. Barry Entin
Dr. Renita Burrell
Dr. Nancy Barnett
Dr. William Hoge
Dr. Eddie Morales
Dr. Eric Brockman
Dr. Chris Hutton
Dr. Constantine Stamatelakys
Dr Michael Hoge